Welcome to St. John's Church, Lafayette Square—a vibrant historic Episcopal church located across from the White House. We invite you to join with us for worship, Christian fellowship and outreach.


From our organization as a parish in 1815 to today, St. John's Church has provided a powerful symbol of faith in the heart of our nation's capital.


At St. John's, we believe Christ is calling us to be a renewed church in a changing world. In worship, education, parish life, and social action, we seek to expand our horizons by serving God by loving one another.

Clergy & Staff

Meet St. John’s diverse and engaging clergy, vestry and staff.

Service Times

St. John's offers several opportunities on Sundays and during the workweek for you to join us during worship. All are welcome.

Directions & Parking

Located at the corner of 16th and H Streets in Northwest Washington, St. John's is near the McPherson Square and Farragut North Metro stations. Limited street parking is available; free valet parking is offered for certain hours.

Rector Transition

On October 17, 2017, the Rev. Dr. Luis León, rector of St. John's Church, announced his retirement in May 2018.

Pastoral Care & Prayer List

Those who are sick or recovering:

From our parish: Bobbie Falk, Jimmy Lowe, KayAnn Schoeneman, Ken Starling, and Dace Vidins.

Friends and family of our parish: Yvonne Allen (Nikki Allen), Gianna Balerna (Judy McKevitt), Carrie Nelle Moye Bannerman (Joanne Hutton), John Frew Carter (Margo Arnold), Lane Carter, Dustin Charles (Andrew Tomlinson), Ellen Cromwell-Cecrle (Carolyn Becraft), Bill Clark (Clark Ervin), William Frew Conderman (Margo Arnold), Dona Coultice (Betty van Iersel), Brody Cox (Jean Schepers), Sambar Datta (Ashley Culbertson), Marcia Delucchi (Chris Delucchi), Henry Farrington (Samuel Watson), Ted Fibison (Wendy Fibison), Jimmy Gallagher (Joanne Hutton), Allison Gardner (Elizabeth Gardner), Tyrone Gayle (Jessica Sanchez), Anne Harrington (Anne and Robert Harrington), Bob Kingsnorth (Joanne Hutton), Michelle Kost (Andrew Tomlinson), Colin Leach (Elizabeth Leach), Redmond McNeill (Livy More), Deborah Mason (Samuel Watson), Rosemary Mariner (Carolyn Becraft), William Markiewicz (Matthew Taylor), Richard Mazzur (Betty van Iersel), Timothy Mullins (Jim Mullins), David Nahamis (Anita Diliberto), Judy Nicola (Cynthia Walker), Luther and Dorothy Nixon (Samuel Watson), Jerry O’Hagan (Lance Jensen), Jonathan A.I. Olowu (Elizabeth Leach), Lisa Pell (Mike Becraft), Candi Forester-Smith (Michael Stratton), Sue Stubbs (Kaye Edwards), Jim Tatosian (Pat Dalby), Henry and Sandy Welles (Donna Welles), Maya White, and Peter Winkler (Betty van Iersel).

Those in the hospital:

Friends and family of our parish: 

Jim Bailey (Mike Becraft), James Falk (Kathryn Falk), Robert Hohman (Wendy Fibison), Julie Howell (Cynthia Walker), Betty Mauldin (Susan Welch), Aiden Mylnikov (Lindsey Bowen), William Singer (Emily Lucio), Sandra Wall Tyndall (Michael J. Stratton), and Larry Watson (Catherine Outten Olivo).
Those who are in hospice: 
From our parish: Chet Grey.
Friends and family of our parish: Gay Fox (Bob and Gay Pasley).
Those who have died
From our parish: Togo West, who died March 8.
Those celebrating a birthday this week: Paul Barkett, Joanne Bauers, Tad Blundon, Isabelle Corbett, Ashley Coxe, Cynthia Ferranto, Anne Field, Carolyn Gardner, John Gardner, Thomas Hailey, Patrick Hanniford, Janet Helgert, Marti Patchell, Scott Raab, Doug Schwartz, Graham Singer, Peter Spaulding, Amy Stulman, Sarah Wild, and Sang Yi.
Those in our parish celebrating an anniversary this week:
Emily and Paul Kallaur.