Welcome to St. John's Church, Lafayette Square—a vibrant historic Episcopal church located across from the White House. We invite you to join with us for worship, Christian fellowship and outreach.


From our organization as a parish in 1815 to today, St. John's Church has provided a powerful symbol of faith in the heart of our nation's capital.


At St. John's, we believe Christ is calling us to be a renewed church in a changing world. In worship, education, parish life, and social action, we seek to expand our horizons by serving God by loving one another.

Clergy & Staff

Meet St. John’s diverse and engaging clergy, vestry and staff.

Service Times

St. John's offers several opportunities on Sundays and during the workweek for you to join us during worship. All are welcome.

Directions & Parking

Located at the corner of 16th and H Streets in Northwest Washington, St. John's is near the McPherson Square and Farragut North Metro stations. Limited street parking is available; free valet parking is offered for certain hours.

Clergy & Staff



The Rev. Robert W. Fisher
Ext. 302
Contact the Rev. Robert Fisher


The Rev. Jane Milliken Hague
Interim Associate Rector
Ext. 307
Contact the Rev. Jane Milliken Hague

The Rev. William Morris
Assisting Priest for
Engaging Faith and the Workplace
Ext. 319
Contact the Rev. William Morris

The Rev. Savannah Ponder
Deacon for Ministries to
Children, Youth, and Families

Ext. 304
Contact the Rev. Savannah Ponder


Kim Carlson
Director of Operations
Ext. 306
Contact Kim


Evangeline Gravina
Assistant for Operations
Ext. 301
Contact Evangeline

Preston Cherouny
Financial Secretary
Ext. 316
Contact Preston


R.J. Gravina
Program Coordinator
Ext. 303
Contact RJ


Kaye Edwards
Assistant for Church Growth
Ext. 317
Contact Kaye

Sharlyne Griffin
Ext. 305
Contact Sharlyne


Brent Erstad
Director of Music
Ext. 308
Contact Brent

Samantha Scheff
Assistant Organist
Contact Samantha


Javier Obregon


Glynnis Bryant

David Gamboa


Under the Canons of the Episcopal Church, the Vestry of St. John’s Parish is responsible for the economic health of the Parish and for providing support for the ministry of the clergy.

The Vestry consists of the Rector, the Senior Warden, the Junior Warden and twelve members of the Vestry elected by the Parish. The twelve members serve staggered terms of four years and the Senior and Junior Wardens serve one-year terms.

Members of the Vestry serve on the major committees of the Parish — Finance, Properties, and Stewardship. The Vestry is assisted by Parish officers—the Secretary, the Treasurer, and one or more Assistant Treasurers. These Parish officers are appointed by the Vestry annually.


  • The Rev. Robert W. Fisher, Rector
  • Mr. Paul Barkett, Senior Warden (2020)
  • Mr. Jeff Hantson, Junior Warden (2020)
  • The Hon. Christopher Read Wall, Parish Counsel
  • Mrs. Casey Evans, Treasurer
  • Ms. Sara McGanity, Assistant Treasurer
  • Mr. Andrew Tomlinson, Secretary
  • Mr. Scott Raab, Vestry Member (One Year Term)
  • The Rev. Jane Milliken Hague, Interim Associate Rector
  • Ms. Kim Carlson, Director of Operations
2019 Vestry Photo WEB

Class of 2021
Mr. Andrew Clarke
Mrs. Martha Ellison
Mrs. Jessica Sanchez

Class of 2022
Mrs. Carolyn Crouch
Mr. Jeff Hantson
Mr. Peter Odom

Class of 2023
Mrs. Desirée Davis Stolar
Lt. Col. Lauren Edwards
Mrs. Nora Rigby

Class of 2024
Mrs. Laurie Adams
Mr. Anthony Pegues
Mr. Carl Ward